Uncategorized

New York City

“I didn’t know the city at all, but I was so happy to be in New York I cried. I was so excited.”  Greta Gerwig

 

The worst thing about living on the West Coast is being so far from New York.

During my year on the East Coast I had the pleasure to visit New York three times and each time I fell in love with it more and more.
On July 28, 2014, after a 7 hour flight, as soon as I saw the skyline from the plane I touched my cheek and tears were flowing down. It did not seem real and I could not believe it. I made it to the United States, I was in frigging NEW YORK CITY.
I became obsessed with New York about six or seven years ago, during my first year of High School and my love for the Big Apple became bigger and bigger by just scrolling down on Instagram. I had a whole photo album with screenshots of all of the places I wanted to go to, and see, and eat, and visit. After three times I can say I did see most of the things I wanted to, but the list is still long so I will have to go back before I head back to Europe next year.
July 31, 2015. First time in New York. 
We left for New York right after lunch, got on the bus and we drove for about one hour before arriving in front of the Rockefeller Center. Driving through the city the little things got me excited. The yellow cabs, the buildings, the skyscrapers, the people, the energy.
We went to the Top of the Rock and I started crying. That Concrete Jungle I’ve always dreamed of was right there in front of me, it wasn’t in a picture on Instagram anymore. I felt like I was on top of the World.
Here are just some of the pictures of my first time in New York City.
~ Giulia
Leave a Reply

